Prudhoe to Valdez. 800 miles.

Pipeline Operations

The Trans Alaska Pipeline System was originally designed to operate with 12 pump stations. Only 11 were built due to overall pumping efficiency. With today’s throughput and pump station upgrades through the Electrification & Automation project, only four pump stations are in use today.

  • Pump Stations 1, 3, 4 and 9 currently pump oil through TAPS. Pump Stations 3, 4 and 9 have been retrofitted with new E&A pumps and equipment. Pump Station 1 was the last to come online with new pumps, cutting over from its legacy pumping equipment in October 2015.
  • Pump Station 5 is a relief station, providing a mechanism to relieve the pressure that builds up in the pipeline as the oil descends down Atigun Pass.
  • Pump Station 6 is now the Yukon Response Base, providing equipment, housing and staging areas for Alyeska’s oil spill response crews in northern Alaska.
  • Pump Station 9 operates as both a pump station and the Delta Response Base (DRB). The DRB provides equipment and staging areas for oil spill response crews in interior Alaska.
  • Pump Station 11 is now the Glennallen Response Base, providing equipment and staging areas for oil spill response crews along the southern portion of the pipeline.

All of the response bases support one another, and the response crews annually drill and practice response techniques along the pipeline corridor.

Pump Station 7 remains active and is part of Alyeska’s cold restart contingency plan, providing a means to inject heat into the pipeline during a protracted and unexpected shutdown.

Back to top